Mia Amber Asks… Isaac Mizrahi

I told you guys that I’ve been working on a new feature for you and as promised, I am overjoyed to introduce to you*drumroll please*

Mia Amber Asks…

Basically, I’m playing ‘3 questions’ with the hottest names in the fashion, entertainment and beauty biz in the hopes that the answers I get will help those aspiring to do the things that my guest icons are doing.

First up is the incomparable icon, Isaac Mizrahi!

Isaac Mizrahi

Mizrahi is one of my absolute favorite designers, authors and TV personalities and he never disappoints!

His eponymous line for Target stores became one of my (and my Mom’s) fashion staples and we were sorry to see it go.  It ranged from size 2-18 and was fantastic!

Isaac_Mizrahi_Target

However, Isaac has been working on lots of new projects such as his debut as host of Bravo’s new hit, “The Fashion Show” on which I made an appearance as a Front Row Fashion Insider on this seasons “Real Woman Challenge.”  Sitting with him on that front row and chatting while wearing one of his pieces was a surreal moment for me.

The Fashion Show

Isaac has been busy indeed with his many fashionable coals in the fire such as Bridal, Bags, Books and Bedding.

Mizrahi Bedding

Take a look at the campaigns for his latest collections for Liz Claiborne.  It’s always fun to play “Where’s Waldo Isaac” in the ads!

Liz Claiborne Mizrahi campaign

I love that he uses women of all shapes and sizes in his campaigns.

Isaac Mizrahi Liz Claiborne Fall09

and here’s Mizrahi for Liz Claiborne Woman

Isaac Mizrahi Liz Claibrone Woman

I caught up to Mr. Mizrahi this week in the midst of his preparation for the showing of his 2010 Spring Collection at Mercedes Benz Fashion Week which he is streaming live at 2pm Thursday, September 17.

Go to www.WatchIsaac.com  and be apart of the front row!

Until then, let’s play “3 Questions”

MA:  What’s the worst career advice you’ve ever received?

IM: Someone (who shall remain nameless) told me to take it slow and not get carried away.  He told me to pace myself and try not to involve my ego in my work.  I guess that might be good advice to someone else but I can’t help being really passionate about what I do and measuring my personal worth by the work I do.  It’s just how I’m built.

MA: What was the best career advice you ever received?

IM:  The best advice came from my psychic in 1987 who told me to leave the company I was working for and start my own company.  It was something I was going to do anyway but having her blessing made it feel less crazy.

MA:  Good, bad or Ugly…what career advice do you have to offer a newbie in your field?

IM:  My best advice to newbies… have fun doing what you do.  If it’s not fun DON’T DO IT!

Mizrahi

I cannot thank you enough Isaac for your time and honesty. You are one of the best in the business and you’ll always have a place in my heart –and your clothes in my closet!

Don’t forget to tune in to watch Isaac Mizrahi debut his 2010 Spring collection this Thursday at 2pm sharp at www.WatchIsaac.com

XOXO,

Mia

**UPDATE**

If you missed Isaac’s Spring 2010 collection debut live at Mercedes Benz Fashion Week, click here to see it as it happened: 

http://www.isaacmizrahiny.com/watch_isaac/web-i-sodes/903/isaac_mizrahi_spring_2010

2 Responses to “Mia Amber Asks… Isaac Mizrahi”

  1. Love, love Isaac and I will tune in. Great post!

  2. Love this post! And Love Isaac Mizrah! And of course love you! Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

