Tyra Banks & Mia Amber Get Real

Recently my close personal friend (in my head) Tyra Banks declared on her eponymous talk show that she was taking off her wigs and ditching her weaves for the current season in order to show women that artificial hair was an accessory and not a necessity for true beauty.

Tyra Banks Real Hair

Tyra’s decision effected me in ways I could never imagine. About a week after “National Real Hair Day” I was out and about sporting my 24 inch premium extensions when I couldn’t shake the feeling that I was in costume.  After work that day I went home and took out my weave.

Mia Amber au Natural

Photo by Anthony Armstrong.

I love my “new” hair and the reaction I’ve been getting from it is overwhelmingly positive. Please understand that I wasn’t trying to be anyone other than myself by wearing my weaves. I wear them to protect my natural hair from the wear and tear of the industry and at some point I will probably need to go back to them to give my natural hair a rest.  I haven’t had a relaxer in many years and I am happily re-learning how to deal with the curl pattern of my hair.

kinky curly

I’ve found great joy in the line of products by a company called Kinky Curly.  I had never heard of them and did a simple you tube search. Little did I know, I was Tardy for The Party as I was shocked to find so many conversations and videos about Kinky Curly! 

Kinky Curly Knot Today Leave-In Conditioner

kinky curly knot today

and Kinky Curly Curling Custard

Kinky Curly Curling Custard

 are amazing! They leave my hair soft, smelling great (you have no idea how many compliments I’m getting on how good my hair smells–it’s kind of weird) manageable and defined.  The products are so natural that they’re sold at Whole Foods!

I hadn’t discovered the joy of Kinky Curly when the above pic was taken, however I did rock my Kinky Curly hair this past weekend as I walked the runway for designers BGU at the WBLS NY Circle of Sisters Expo.

Mia Amber Circle of Sisters

Creator of this wonder product, Shelley Davis (no relation) also uses it!

shelleycreator-main_Full

If you have natural hair and you’ve found products that you love, let me know– I’d love to hear from you!

XOXO,

Mia

 **UPDATE**

Guess who I had the absolute pleasure of meeting at this years Love Your Body Day? Shelley Davis and her beautiful daughter! I told her how much I loved her products and she said she was a fan of my blog! Woo Hoo!!

Mia Amber with Shelley Davis and her beautiful daughter

2 Responses to “Tyra Banks & Mia Amber Get Real”

  1. I love all your post Mia…But especially this one. Although I don’t wear weave I do constantly over straighten my hair! It is naturally “curly sue” curly…lol…So I think I will embrace my natural curls for a while and give the over processed look a break! LOL

  2. Oh my god, your curly hair is AMAZING!

    I’ve got naturally curly hair and I’ve always worn it natural – I’ve never had extensions and I think I’ve straightened my hair all of 3 times (straight hair doesn’t suit me at all).

    I use a chemical-free shampoo and conditioner – my preferred brand is an Australian brand called Sukin.

    To style, I use Tigi Curls Rock Leave-In Conditioner and Tigi Curls Rock Curl Amplifier. I emulsify the two together and apply it to damp hair. They leave an awesome natural curl and smell amazing – I also get people commenting on how nice my hair smells!

Leave a Reply

