Mia Amber, Birthday Girl

This past weekend, I celebrated my birthday by doing something I’ve never done before!

A few weeks ago I stood on line with thousands of other New Yorker’s to obtain a Key to the City of New York which would allow unprecedented access to sites in every borough of NYC! 

I decided that my birthday was as good a day as any to get started on my adventure!

After a quick elevator mini-cell phone photo shoot… (Don’t judge–it was my birthday!)

the day began at Eddie’s Sweet Shop.  Eddie’s is a place I had visited many times as a child so I was excited to see how it may have changed over the years.  The folks at Eddie’s were so kind and rolled out the red carpet as soon as I showed them my key! 

Up next was a trip into NYC. I headed uptown to the Whitney Museum.  It had begun to pour by this point so after waiting out the rain it was time to unlock the adventure at the Whitney.

After a nice chat with the employees it was time to take a break from the hunt and head downtown to Times Square where I had a date with a king!

There were absolutely no cell phones or photos allowed of any kind inside the exhibit but it was incredible! The jewelry, furniture and relics of the time were impeccably maintained and stunning. I learned so much about King Tut, a.k.a. The Boy King.  The actual mummy was the only thing that was a replica in the entire exhibit because The Kings body is not allowed outside of Egypt.  If you’re in NYC make your way over to the exhibit. It’s here through January.

Up next was more action in the form of a movie! Salt starring Angelina Jolie was FANTASTIC!

I actually found myself holding my breath a few times due to the action!

After dinner in Times Square it was pretty late but there was time for one last stop on my Key to the City Adventure. I made my way over to Bryant Park and had fun not only using the key but meeting several other folks who were there for the same reason. We had great conversations about which sites we’d all visited and which we were planning to get to.

All in all it was a wonderful day!

XOXO,

Mia

P.S.  I didn’t tell you what I saw at each venue because I don’t want to ruin the surprise of what’s in store for you if you’re able to get your hands on a key but it’s totally worth it!

5 Responses to “Mia Amber, Birthday Girl”

  1. Jade Bishop Says:

    Congratulations on your key to the city, and your birthday, Mia!
    XOXO!

  2. Carolyn Says:

    What a special birthday. You said it was raining!! Well you could not tell it by your beautiful hair and smile. Happy Belated Birthday!!!

  3. Wow! What an exciting day! I wish the mayor of NYC would send me a key that I could save for my next visit back home.

    Happy Belated Birthday, Mia Amber!

  4. Jade Bishop Says:

    Mia, you are quite sophisticated, smart and beautiful! Love your
    make-up, and wonder which products you used, especially the lip gloss!
    XOXO

  5. Tom Harling Says:

    Hello Miss Davis, I just wanted to drop you a line to let you know I think your a Gorgeous Woman. I just finished watching “Road Trip”, & I just had get your name & look you up. I’m happy to see you’re a success full woman. Be Blessed in all that you do, & take care.

Leave a Reply

