KLS…Baby FAT?!

If you know me, you’re well aware of my three BFFIMH (Best Friends Forever In My Head…)  Beyonce, Tyra and Kimora Lee Simmons. 

Well color me surprised when I woke up to a twitter announcement from Kimora in which she stated that she was no longer with Baby Phat! WHAT?! Makes no sense to me.  I knew she’d sold the company but decided to stay on to mold the brand. 

I mean, she created the company, how do you leave a company that you created AND that you are the face, voice and life of?

The New York Post may have the answer– they say she was FIRED!!

Kimora Lee Simmons was “unceremoniously dumped” from Baby Phat, sources close to the ex-model said of her abrupt exit from the clothing company she founded with ex-husband Russell Simmons. Sources said Simmons is mulling a possible lawsuit against owner Kellwood. “She was blindsided that Kellwood fired everyone,” said one. But another Baby Phat insider it could have been a way to slash costs: “Kimora was going over-budget. She’d pay herself a fee to be in the ads, plus she paid her children fees to appear in ads. It costs thousands of dollars to airbrush her because she’s a size 10. Plus, they spent a ton of money on body doubles. They would shoot another model in the clothes, and take Kimora’s head and put in on her body.” Kellwood had no comment.

Source

 Evidence that this may be true?  Last year the web was abuzz because of the obvious photoshop wizardry/bait and switch done with Kimora’s body and model Daria Werbowy’s for KLS’ new Dare Me fragrance.

If she was let go because of her size then shame on Kellwood.

KLS is a size 10 and as a Wife, Mom, Mogul, Model, Author, TV Personality & Designer, she’s also a PERFECT 10!

XOXO,

Mia

3 Responses to “KLS…Baby FAT?!”

  1. Jade Bishop Says:

    Wow, Mia, I did not know about this! Kimora is a survivor, and she is
    the ultimate model! She owns her name, I hope. Anyway, my
    question is, WHERE CAN I GET THE HAT TYRA IS WEARING? I CAN’T
    FIND IT, ANYWHERE? THANKS FOR TIMELY NEWS, Mia! I love
    Kimora, and I love you!

  2. I am outraged that Kimora’s involvement in Baby Phat might be compromised because she is a size 10. Thanks, Mia Amber, for keeping us current and informed. We appreciate your Blog!

  3. Wow! It makes no sense to me because when I think of Baby Phat – Kimora is the first image that comes to my head other than the dope logo, still I think it is kind of corney to be photoshopping her body to make her look smaller….she looks good just the way she is and actually the photos do look extra fake when they make her look so thin. Still, that is all pretty shocking, thanks for the update.

Leave a Reply

