“Should Fatties Get a Room…” or Just Cancel Their Subscriptions?

Marie Claire writer Maura Kelly put a very fat foot in her mouth with an article she wrote based on the romance of TV characters Mike & Molly called, “Should Fatties Get a Room?”


Here’s an excerpt:
“I think I’d be grossed out if I had to watch two characters with rolls and rolls of fat kissing each other … because I’d be grossed out if I had to watch them doing anything. To be brutally honest, even in real life, I find it aesthetically displeasing to watch a very, very fat person simply walk across a room – just like I’d find it distressing if I saw a very drunk person stumbling across a bar or a heroine [sic] addict slumping in a chair.”

Click HERE to read the rest of this disturbing piece.

I’m not sure if I’m more upset with Maura for her closed-minded beauty ideals and societal views or if I’m more disappointed with Marie Claire for condoning her behavior.

If I had a subscription to the magazine I would seriously have to reconsider it at this point.  Luckily I don’t have to make that decision.

What do you think?

XOXO,

Mia

2 Responses to ““Should Fatties Get a Room…” or Just Cancel Their Subscriptions?”

  1. Hey there, this is my first time dropping by reading your post and I felt the itch to respond to what I think so here it goes!

    first of all I’d like to apologize If I’ve said anything wrong to offend anyone especially you and I’d be glad to say it again if needed 🙂

    It is physically and mentally displeasing to see something that is posted for public viewing; be it a book or tv or a magazine that is shown today(bare in mind that media nowadays is built based on how people live and treat each other). It is baffling and hurtful to see, feel or hear something like that still exist! and Marie Claire, letting people say something like that and make it look ok, when actually it is NOT. We should not let them lead us with that kind of example!

    ‘you are what you eat’

    to me this phrase (and that’s not the only phrase that I stand by) has long taught me that the word ‘eat’ in the phrase above is subjective and it tells us that we become what we consume, not only does this mean that we live according to how we eat daily but if we dwell into it deeper it means how we live according to what we consume spiritually i.e our knowledge, beliefs and the strength of our consciousness.

    If we let something such as the article that you’ve posted to be consumed by our society, we would end up making it grow and adapt among us, thus making our future become judgmental; and the worst part is that it is turning bad as the day goes by! and I do hope i do not live to see the day when we are all at our lowest point in terms of morality and spirituality.

    Unfortunately these days, its hard to find something that is either black or white. It is all gray where ever your try to look. For me personally, calling names and judging people by how big they are is the same as being a racist. There is no scale in doing something wrong. Wrong is still wrong no matter how you try to look at it.

    Personally I’ve found a way to fight my way through all these things that I see and it is all because of that simple phrase that I’ve typed above. We are what we eat! If we look deep in our hearts and see the purity of our consciousness we can easily tell the difference of what is wrong and what is right. And when I see something that is right, I will try doing it! Do what is right and don’t do what’s not. That’s how I roll and that’s how I think everybody should roll; and it all starts with respect!

    Dear Mia, please keep your chin up and your will strong because the fact is that we are all born in this world as a test. A test from God to make us seek the path towards the greater good. And what’s important is how and what we do to get there. We all need to because we all need Him. Haha sorry for sounding like a priest but honestly I do believe in that.

    I hope you’re not that deeply upset about whats going on in this world Mia because there are still good people among us, with a good consciousness like you around to make most of us aware that what’s being said and done in the magazine is wrong. So I hope you do keep it up in spreading your words of wisdom and help our society stay clean!

  2. […] While I am happy for Marie Claire’s giant step forward in placing voluptuous singer/actress Amber Riley on dual covers, I can’t help but think this may be their way of apologizing for last fall’s anti-fat tirade. […]

Leave a Reply

